Contact Us
  • or call us @ 801.538.8622
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

News and Events

USTAR Awards Grants to Utah Companies and University Researchers

USTAR awarded seven Technology Acceleration Program (TAP) grants and seven University Technology Acceleration Grants (UTAG) in its latest round of funding.

“This round of cutting-edge technologies has potential to translate into improved monitoring systems and methods to test and validate drug and device therapies,” said Ivy Estabrooke, Ph.D., USTAR executive director. “Awardee projects span long-range wireless telemetry systems to improved sensor technology and non-corrosive solid rocket propellant.”

Stimulating technology development for early-stage Utah companies, USTAR’s TAP grants address a critical funding gap in the innovation ecosystem. The program supports private sector technology development by assisting technology entrepreneurs to grow ideas into revenue producing companies.

The UTAG program supports research and development of specific technologies with significant commercial potential that need additional refinement before they can be spun out from a university setting.

These competitive grants target Utah’s emerging technologies and allow researchers or companies to de-risk their technologies while providing essential funds to accelerate research and development, establish proof of concept, or perform product validation.

“As an economic development engine for Utah, USTAR’s goal is to accelerate the growth of the state’s technology economy,” said Estabrooke. “The awardees in USTAR’s latest cohort are impressive and are creating technologies with real potential for commercialization.”

Both grant programs are competitive with applications assessed by independent peer review panels. Final approval for awardees is given by the USTAR Governing Authority. Award amounts will be released pending final contract negotiations.

TAP Awardees:

Adranos Aerospace, Payson
Ceramatec, Salt Lake City
DPI-IPG, Salt Lake City
Emissions Based Maintenance, Lehi
Life-E, Sandy
Niivatech, Provo
Wovyn, Heber City

UTAG Awardees:

Z.Zak Fang, University of Utah
Kai Kuck, University of Utah
Dah-Jye Lee, Brigham Young University
Matthew Memmott, Brigham Young University
Jan Miller, University of Utah
Irina Polejaeva, Utah State University
Christopher Trampell, Weber State University


< Back to All Articles
Contact Us
  • or call us @ 801.538.8622
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.